• Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 dienekes

dienekes

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 17 March 2019 - 09:42 PM

Hello, I'm pretty new to actually playing a proper game of Warhammer, even though I've dabbled in it a bit through the years - now my interest in it has returned after close to twenty years due to other games (Frostgrave mainly, bringing me back to the gaming table). I dug out my old dwarf army which pretty much hadn't seen a battle, or the light of day, and was just wondering what sort of tips you could give me fighting 6th edition Skaven. At least, I believe it is the 7th edition dwarf army list I have and my opponent has the same (from way back in 2005 I believe).

I am only using what figures I have, so will have to stick with these for now, and am aiming for a 3000 point game. 

I have met the point spot on (or at least I hope so!), and this is what I have:

3 Heroes:

1x Dwarf Lord equipped with a Great Weapon, gromril armour, and shield bearers. .... 306pts

Runes are Master Rune of Alaric

Rune of Striking

Rune of Cleaving   (overkill with a great weapon against Skaven?)

On his armour 

Rune of Resistance

Rune of Stone

Rune of Preservation      

and his talisman: Rune of Furnace (thinking to protect him from those pesky warp throwers!)

1x Thane with hand weapon, gromril armour and the army battle standard.....125 points

Runes are Master Rune of swiftness

Rune of fire

and the Rune of Stone

1x Runesmith equipped with hand weapon, shield, gromril armour.....87 points

Runes are Rune of Striking and Rune of Stone

Core Troops:

Longbeards x 23 including veteran, runic standard, musician (unit is also going to be where dwarf lord will reside with his shield bearers) - Master Rune of Grungni on standard.......391 points

Dwarf Warriors x 50 split into two regiments of 25 each - both with veterans, standards and musicians, armed with hand weapons and shields...... 500 points