• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 RaritanAnon

RaritanAnon

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 05:57 AM

So I'm just getting into AoS, coming from 8th 40k. I've had fun with that system and I'd like to play the other GW game sicne I missed out on WHFB for the most part. I really want to start up Dwarfs, since I've loved the aesthetic and the models ever since I played 4th ed 40k and saw them on the shelves. So, I make this thread to pose a question that I've been asking myself and others, without a clear answer.

How do I want to build my Dwarf army? Now the simple answer would be 'Go Disposessed' but I found a bit of a flaw with that when I wanted to take Gyrocopters and War Machines: the ally points is far too low for you to take much of anything.

So to start off, I kind of want to base this problem on a system of playing on a 1000pt matched game, with possible room for expansion to 2000. My options are thus:

• Dispossessed - Standard Dwarfs with Gyrocopter/Bomber support
  • Dispossessed v2 - Standard Dwarfs with Fyreslayer support
  • All Dwarf Tempest's Eye - Organ Guns/Cannons/Copters/Bombers with Dwarf support

So I'll tackle the first one. Obviously it's the standard Dispossessed idea with the Pickaxe+Irondrakes and a pair of Copters to support, as allies. The list looks like this. Pretty standard stuff. 

Allegiance: Dispossessed
- Grudge: Shoddy Craftsmanship
Runelord (80)
- General
- Trait: Resolute 
- Artefact: Ancestral Pickaxe 
Warden King (120)
20 x Warriors (160)
- Double-handed Duardin Axes & Shields
10 x Longbeards (120)
- Great Axes & Shields
10 x Irondrakes (200)
10 x Thunderers (120)
Gyrobombers (80)
- Allies
Gyrocopters (80)
- Gun: Steam Gun
- Allies

Total: 960 / 1000
Allies: 160 / 200
Wounds: 69