Jump to content


Photo

Silver Horn Of Vengeance Question

magic heirloom silver horn

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 The Grim Delver

The Grim Delver

    Dwarf Warrior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 79 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 11:10 AM

Hey,

I was going to use the silver horn in an upcoming battle and I had a quick question. If the horn is used by a charging unit that is in horde formation, do the guys making supporting attacks get +1 attack a well or is it just the front rank.

 

The BRB says models with this special rule, (devastating charge), get +1 attack on the charge and I assume the whole unit gains the special rule.

 

But an extra 20 supporting attacks on top of the front rank seems to be a bit OTT. You would absolutly murder someone if you got a charge in.



#2 The Rubicund Runesmith

The Rubicund Runesmith

    Dwarf Warrior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 11:27 AM

The 2nd and 3rd ranks would not be able to make an extra attack: supporting attacks are always limited to one except in the case of monstrous infantry and other special rules/exceptions. 



#3 The Grim Delver

The Grim Delver

    Dwarf Warrior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 79 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 12:29 PM

okay. thanks.



#4 Zidane_blade

Zidane_blade

    Dwarf Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,368 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 01:42 PM

What are......other special rules/exceptions? Because to my knowledge, there is none.
I don't have the BRB, but I'm fairly certain it reads: Can never or under no circumstance, be more than one.
For infantry that is, ofcourse.

#5 Gotrong Gudmundsson

Gotrong Gudmundsson

    Dwarf Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,382 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 01:50 PM

Some argue that the Lizardmens rule, which I can't recall the name of, is an exception. The one were if they roll 6's they're granted extra attacks?



#6 kelvenmore

kelvenmore

    Dwarf Longbeard

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 500 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 02:35 PM

Some argue that the Lizardmens rule, which I can't recall the name of, is an exception. The one were if they roll 6's they're granted extra attacks?

Predatory fighter

#7 Zidane_blade

Zidane_blade

    Dwarf Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,368 posts

Posted 10 December 2014 - 06:02 PM

Some what knew that one would come up, but didn't take it into account, since that one actually is determined.
Or atleast in my area ^^

#8 lordkingcrow

lordkingcrow

    Dwarf Warrior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 12 December 2014 - 11:24 PM

Predatory Fighter was pretty hotly contested on the Lustria forum, but it eventually got out of hand and the guys running the site locked it.  The core of the argument was that Army Book trumps Core Rule book vs. Core Rule Book states that there are never supporting attacks.  It's best to just figure out what your gaming community wants to do and run with it until a FAQ comes out for them.  That being said, it is the only rule I'm aware of with an arguable reason to grant additional attacks from another rank.



#9 Gotrong Gudmundsson

Gotrong Gudmundsson

    Dwarf Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,382 posts

Posted 13 December 2014 - 01:31 AM

I always thought that was a farfetched argument. It'd be extra attacks coming from a model in the supporting ranks, no matter how you look at it. It doesn't conflict with the rulebook either! It's no different from lets say... frenzy, or devastating charge. Just like how Red Fury doesn't work from back ranks.

 

A good example of racial bias :P



#10 kelvenmore

kelvenmore

    Dwarf Longbeard

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 500 posts

Posted 13 December 2014 - 01:40 AM

A guy at my local game store plays it as no additional attacks. I've always read the rule as getting extra attacks, even for supporting attacks. Averaging one additional attack per rank really isn't that great of a benefit. Especially if you have to overrun.

#11 Gotrong Gudmundsson

Gotrong Gudmundsson

    Dwarf Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,382 posts

Posted 13 December 2014 - 08:09 AM

What's good or not doesn't really matter, only what's correct! The predatory hunter lets them do extra attacks if they roll 6's... but supporting models are always limited to 1 attack, no matter what.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: magic, heirloom, silver horn

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users