• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 GTRKing72

GTRKing72

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 02:33 AM

Hey all. I am new to the forums and wasn't sure if this was the area to ask advice for army lists or not. So here I go. I am new to the Warhammer Fantasy franchise and started a dwarf army because hey, Dwarfs are awesome! I am a casual player so I am just looking to play a good all around fun dwarf army. So far this is what I have.

Runelord - I am wanting to put him on an AoD but the question is, what are some good and fun runes to give him?

Dwarf Warriors 16x - Full Command and using hand weapons and shields. I plan on filling the unit out with about 30-40 warriors.

the next unit I am going to buy are Ironbreakers. So the question here is, How should I play them?

Thanks for helping a Noob out!

-GTRKing72

#2 Ozariig

Ozariig

Dwarf Longbeard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 720 posts

Posted 25 August 2014 - 03:43 AM

The AoD isn't very popular with our current army book (it's a long story).  The model is cool though, so I definitely don't want to dissuade you.  My best advice would be to try to find a way to make your Runelord dual purpose between the Anvil and the standard 20mmx20mm infantry base (magnets, custom base for the Anvil, or something like that) so you can run your Runelord with one of your units in a pinch.

As for runes, the typical builds are as follows.  These builds also work find for Runesmiths, which are more popular than Runelords because they are cheaper and just as good for Rune of Spellbreaking.

• Ghettosmith: 1-2 Runes of Spellbreaking, and maybe Rune of Stone and a Shield for defense
  • Passagesmith: Shield, Rune of Stone, 1-2 Runes of Spellbreaking, Rune of Passage (useful against Wood Elves)
  • Blingsmith: Shield, Rune of Stone, 1-2 Runes of Spellbreaking, Fiery Ring of Thori
  • Tunesmith: Shield, Rune of Stone, 1-2 Runes of Spellbreaking, Silver Horn of Vengeance