6 replies to this topic

#1 Landy

Landy

Dwarf Hammerer

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 298 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 04:43 PM

I'm quite new to WHFB and even newer to Dwarves (it's more of a 5 o'clock shadow than a beard). I'm trying to catch up on the fluff, but not everything made it into the new book (I think). Many of the models have small, stylized dwarven faces hanging from various things in addition to runes and whatnot. My very cursory search hasn't turned up much about what these things are, but maybe they are called ancestors? What significance do these things have? I'm sure it's nothing in game, but maybe there is a good bit of fluff?

Cheers,

Landy

#2 Hod Flagonpounder

Hod Flagonpounder

Dwarf Longbeard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 729 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 05:24 PM

I have always assumed those faces are of ancestors. To give a real world analog, Dwarf ancestors are much like ancestors in Shintoism. They believe that their ancestors watch over their deeds and judge them. They also revere ancestors who did great deeds in their lives much like Christian reveres Saints. All Gods in the Dwarf Pantheon are ancestors, with the Gods in the most prominent positions being the ancestors who started the entire Dwarf race.

#3 Dourin

Dourin

Dwarf King

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,056 posts
Contributor

Posted 01 May 2014 - 06:50 PM

When a dwarf dies, a number of icons are made that resemble the facial features of the dwarf in question. These can get added as small bits and bobs to various weapons, armours, ancestor shrines and what now as a devotional practice. Prominent dwarfs, such as Runelords, Guild masters, Clan Elders,... have larger icons made which can get added to Guild Halls, the Throne Room, the Clan halls.