• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 guardian angel

guardian angel

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 14 March 2014 - 10:20 AM

I'm new to dwarfs and am in the process of building up my first army with them. At the moment my army includes a unit of 15 irondrakes with musician. The purpose of this unit is to be a mobile flank guard.... but then I got thinking!

Rangers with shields cost the same but have even greater flexibility than Irondrakes due to having crossbows, throwing axes and great weapons! Add in scout they seem on paper a very flexible unit.

I'm gonna try out both and see what I prefer, but I guess what I'm asking is: what are peoples opinions on rangers in the new dwarf book and their potential uses?

#2 Notts

Notts

Dwarf Hammerer

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts

Posted 14 March 2014 - 12:21 PM

rangers and iron drakes have totally different battlefield roles really.

#3 pa11ad1n

pa11ad1n

Dwarf Hammerer

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 260 posts

Posted 14 March 2014 - 01:14 PM

I don't see rangers being useful for anything beyond vanguard blocking.  If they had been special instead of rare, then maybe that would have been different.

You pay for a lot of equipment, including a 30 inch range... which is wasted on them.  On top of that having a move or fire weapon is far from optimal on a scouting unit.  They only have normal dwarf warrior stats so you would need a reasonably large unit of them to be combat effective, particularly if they are unsupported.  But being in rare... you simply don't have the points to spend on them.  They are competing for space with organ guns, flame cannons, iron drakes and gyro bombers.

One view is that all of the equipment they have makes them flexible... the other is that they are over equipped.  If they had the option of coming without the crossbow they would have been a solid choice.