• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 dlust1

dlust1

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 07:47 AM

So i would like to start off by saying that i am really new to warhammer fanasy (first army and 0 games played so far)

I have seen a bunch of games played by friends and on youtube and other wargaming sites, but would like fellow gamers opinions on which warmachines i should be purchasing?

i have a cannon from the battle for skull pass set i picked up stupidly cheap and 2 more from battle boxes that i can make into either cannons or organ guns, but now that i have the new book i'm looking at the price for boltthrowers and they seem really good for dmg vs cost, and i would like your options on if they are worth it or if i should opt for other choices?

#2 Sig650

Sig650

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 18 February 2014 - 08:28 AM

I'm not terribly experienced myself but I have to say that with this new book I don't think anyone could really go wrong with having 1 of each war machine on the shelf. If you're going to snag a bolt thrower i'd try to pick it up second hand, unless having new stuff is your perogative.

After seeing the reactions to the new war machine setup, it seems that the general consensus is that bolt throwers are sub-optimal. Seeing as how I have one, i'll try it when I get the chance and if the majority of my games prove that the general consensus is right I may just put it on the shelf for a while. At 15 points less than the High Elf option (and being down 1 BS) iirc, I don't really see the issue but then again, that could be my lack of experience talking. With a Rune of Seeking (+1 to-hit against Flying) you're right at that 70 point threshold with the High Elf Ballista. There are other runes that cost a bit more but confer a +1 to-hit in general though.