• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 BlackConsulBrother

BlackConsulBrother

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 September 2013 - 02:04 PM

ok im new to dwarfs and have put an army together that I hope will work in an upcoming tournament

im looking to be a little competitive but not to serious

Lords

Runelord

Master Rune of Balance

Rune of Spellbreaking

Heroes

Thane

BSB

Great weapon

Master Rune of Gromril

Rune of Resistance

Rune of fire

Core

4 squads of 10 thunderers

Special

30 hammerers

Full command

Master Rune of Gurngni

Grudge thrower

x2 rune of penetrating

Rune of Burning

let me know what yall think

#2 Ahgrum Steelblood

Ahgrum Steelblood

Young 'Un

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 12 September 2013 - 02:42 PM

I'd almost say go with Ironbreakers over Hammerers, as hammerers are really only worth taking with a Dwarf Lord (IMO). The 3+ armor and 6+ Parry that Ironbreakers get is well worth it. Besides that, it looks like you're not taking any other core unit to act as an anvil for the hammerers which is something they typically need. 

This is assuming you want to keep the thunderers as they are. I'd almost tell you to drop two squads in favor of something else, 280 points... You could get a unit of 30 Dwarf Warriors with shields and have ten points to spare, in that case you could leave your Hammerers in to be the hammer to your anvil... hehe.

Other then that, looks to be a solid list. Question, is your Runelord going to be put into a unit and are you trying to do a gun-line?

*Edit* - Oh, the Thane can't take any extra gear if he's a BSB. He can still take runes, but not shields, great weapons, or things of that nature.

Edited by Folgrim, 12 September 2013 - 02:44 PM.

#3 Cuthbo

Cuthbo

Dwarf Longbeard

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 811 posts

Posted 12 September 2013 - 03:43 PM